Suffer the Little Lass to come unto Me

75016_4832534166438_2029575679_n (1)Being a Registered Nurse has it’s advantages, one of which is the ability to understand what the Physician is talking about when you are in need of his intervention.  Many friends have turned to me over the years for assistance in deciphering what they have been told at the Doctor’s office.  This has been a ministry of sorts and I would like to believe that I have alleviated some of the apprehension associated with their illness.  My skills have enabled me the pleasure of caring for my Dad and my Stepmother as they battled the torments of cancer.  There developed a bond during those months of palliative care that have given much comfort as I reflect on those days.  After retiring, my stethoscope sorta got hung on the back of the closet door.   Well, it seems that the Lord has given me the need to hang the stethoscope around my neck once more.

The death of a parent can be most devastating especially is there was a close bond.  My friend had a special close relationship with his Mom and even wrote an article commemorating her passing. (http://jpfinn7,wordpress.com )  Since I was a survivor of an abusive childhood, I did not share this type of deep emotional attachment to my parents.  As a young mother though, I often broke into tears over the thought of losing a child.  A dear sweet Aunt lost two of her sons, three years apart at Easter time; one of cancer (age 17), one from injuries sustained in a car wreck (had been home from Nam  two weeks)  It aged her tremendously.  And the Lord God said,  Diann, it is your turn!

Recently, my sweet firstborn granddaughter developed some black irregular growths on her left foot and her back.  She is preliminarily diagnosed with metastatic melanoma.  As she begins this year she will turn 16 on January 3rd.  The potential challenges which she could face are extremely difficult for an adult let alone a young lass in her prime years of youth.

The process of her treatment began with the successful removal of the tumor on her foot.  The Podiatrist was pleased that he was able to remove all of the affected tissue.  On the 8th of January she will be examined by a Dermatologist specializing in melanoma’s and an Endrochronologist to assess the tumors on her thyroid.  Although this Clinic is noted for its aggressive treatment of cancers, her Mom has wisely decided to seek confirmation of any adverse diagnosis via a second opinion.

Our family is holding these truths to be divinely evident; 1 – That God is in control and he knows all about this trial of our faith; 2 – Our Heavenly Father is the Great Physician and should the final diagnosis confirm the presence of metastatic melanona he is still in the business of miraculous healing, and 3 – the promise of Romans 8:28 is still in the Living Word of God, and the Lord is allowing this difficult time in her life to show forth his glory and honor.

It is not unusual in clinical settings to discover that in the process of treating one disease, other ailments rear their unsightly head.  The Physician is then bound by his promise within the Hippocratic Oath to render appropriate treatment.  In my granddaughters case the Great Physician has already began to heal  ‘spiritual’ ailments within her and also in our immediate family.  In allowing this trial in her life, the Lord is not only using this as an opportunity to deal with malignant tumors of sin in the lives of others, but also as a catalyst in helping us to draw nigh unto Him.

The Holy Spirit reminded me that I needed to keep short accounts with God in order that my prayers for my granddaughter would not be hindered.  As I diligently bring her before the Throne of Grace I am pleading with the Holy Spirit to reveal to me those sins which the tempter has caused me to conveniently forget.  In doing so, I was given the opportunity to make things right with a Sister-in-Christ that I had offended years ago.  It will be most important that the Holy Spirit has free reign within my heart!

For those of my Blog family that know the Lord Jesus as your personal Savior, I covet your prayers as Tori and our family begin this New Year with challenges from God.  May we face them with His strength and grace as our mantle.

9 thoughts on “Suffer the Little Lass to come unto Me

    • No need to thank me… God bless you. I share in your pain of what you’re going through. We are the Body of Christ, and we must uphold one another in all things. ♥♥♥ When my sister, or my brother, is hurting, I need to pray and pray, as I would for myself if I were suffering, or one of my own children were suffering. We have to hold each other up as we pray for those who are not yet saved and reel them in!

  1. Thanks for visiting my site, and giving me the opportunity to visit yours. This is a great post, and nurses have an amazing ministry. The Holy Spirit has a way to, as I like to say, put your feet in the fire, until every sin is exposed. I’ve been through that and while it isn’t pleasant, it sure feels good when it’s over. God has truly blessed you. You have managed to find faith in life’s adversity. God Bless you and your family.

  2. As a former professional, you must be a great help to your family. Whenever I go to the doctor for anything serious, I take my husband who is not a professional. I seem to get so nervous I sometimes forget what he says. My husband remembers everything perfectly. I am thinking about your granddaughter and praying for your family.

Leave a Reply

