My Church Home

Being a firm believer that one should worship in the Church were God leads them,  I spent several years in a fellowship of believers where I perceived that I did not belong.  The Word  was  being taught in accordance with the scripture; the King James was the primary version of the Bible being used.    The Missionary program was adequate and the music was Christ-honoring.   Over the years I taught Sunday School, served  as an officer in the Ladies missionary Group, and volunteered with church dinners and other social events of the church.  Yet, in the inner workings of my soul I did not seem to fit into the mold of those in authority.  It was as though I was on the outside looking in.  Many times I sought to leave but there was not another fundamental separated church in the area that appealed to my need.  It was my lot to be content where the Lord had led me.  Afterall, I was learning a lot of Bible knowledge, but that was the limit of my gleaning  from the ministry of this church.    Sadly, this was not the case when the Lord first led me to this particular church.  The pastor at that time was my “Grandfather” in the Lord.  He was able to see past my crusty sinned scarred exterior and see a heart that genuinely wanted God’s will to be done in her life.   After he went home to be with the Lord, another man was called to the pulpit whom I truly believe that if he was God, I would never be allowed in heaven.

In the course of time the Lord allowed events to take place in my life that required me to relocate.  I was excited about finding another church in which to worship and serve God.   After several months I was made aware of a Baptist church that captured my interest.  After checking out the website, I attended a morning service.  One needs to understand that I am basically a shy person and visiting a church where I knew absolutely no one was indeed a challenge.  The Lord was gracious and gave me a loving boost in the bucket.  The message I heard that morning, and the songs that were sung gave me no doubt that this is where the Lord wanted me to attend.  His will is always perfect and even though it must have its faults, I believe my church is perfect.

The ministry of my new  hone church is focused on preaching the Whole Counsel of  God from the scriptures.  We use the King James Bible and I dearly love the ‘thee’s and thou’s as well as the poetic presentation of the Word.    I mentioned that the Scripture is being preached.  In my former church is was taught.  The difference is that the former speaks to the heart while the latter educates the mind.  My Pastor preaches the Word and his messages are geared primarily to my heart, where the changes need to be made.  However important head knowledge is, it cannot take the place of  heart knowledge.   I never tire of the Pastor’s preaching.  There are many times when I am disappointed that the message is over.

Music is an important part of worship.  Many instances are recorded within the Word of when singing was incorporated in worshipping God.    The Lord has blessed us with great hymns with which to praise and honor Him.  Churches today employ different types of music in their services.  One I attended leaned more toward the Classical in that it came across somewhat ‘starchy’ in nature.  Another, on the flip side, sounded like the congregation was singing a funeral dirge, it  w e n t   s o   s l o o o o w!   The music at my church is serious when the message in song needs to be and also happy when singing praises to the Lord.   There is joy in serving Jesus and I believe it ought to be reflected in the music we sing.  In no way, under any circumstances would my pastor allow so-called “Christian’ Rock or Contemporary music to be included in the worship service of our church.  These types of music appeal to the emotions, not the mind or the heart.

Perhaps one of the dearest ministries of my church is that in which the outreach is toward our blessed American and the evils within the government.    Our Christian heritage is expounded from the pulpit as well as our responsibility toward keeping wickedness  from running rampant within the halls of congress.  As Christian citizens we are encouraged to become aware of what is going on in government, to become involved in staying the wicked.  On one occasion I walked into church and much to my pride and amazement I saw our men who were able dressed in their military uniforms, even my Pastor.   Our Nation under God is an important part of our church ministry.  Separation of Church and state is NOT scriptural!

On a personal note, I no longer sense that I am on the outside looking in.  There is no evidence of anyone, not even the Pastor , being a respecter of person.  The fellowship of believers in my church is in one accord.  I do not believe I have even heard anyone gossip, and that is very rare!  In addition, the Lord has answered on of my lifetime prayers in that I have found a very special friend, a close friend, one that I can pray with, cry with, rejoice with, and share God’s working and blessing in my life.  We are so comfortable  together.  My God is good!

Christians are a unique group of people who love God, The Bible, and their blessed American heritage.  My desire is that you have found the one special place where God wants you to worship and serve Him.

4 thoughts on “My Church Home

  1. Hello very nice blog!! Guy .. Beautiful .. Superb .. I’ll bookmark your website and take the feeds additionally?I’m glad to find so many helpful information right here within the put up, we need work out extra strategies on this regard, thanks for sharing. . . . . .

Leave a Reply

